MaryJane Butters

The StoryThe_Story.html
Notebooks &
Special VisitsNotebooks_%26_Special_Visits.html
Video, Bio,

MARYJANE’S OUTPOST, ISBN 0307345807, was published in June 2008 by Clarkson Potter, a Random House publisher, 240 pages.  It is the latest of a series of best selling books by MaryJane Butters. 

Here is what she had to write about Growing Seasons:

“Given my passionate love of reading, I was asked to participate in an early childhood initiative designed to help children from birth to age six experience books.  KHQ Spokane’s ‘Success by Six’ campaign created short 30-second TV spots featuring well-know people encouraging parents to read to their children.  For my TV spot, I was sitting on the porch of my little bunkhouse reading to my granddaughter and her friend.  The book I chose to read was Growing Seasons, the story of four girls who grew up on a turn-of-the-century farm.  Not only do I want to see more books in the hands of children, I hope to inspire more young girls to become farmers when they grow up.  I know that I am doing my job because I heard one of the four-year-old girls who comes to my farm frequently tell a little boy who said he wanted to be a farmer when he grew up, ‘You have to be a girl to be a farmer.’” p. 65

Growing Seasons is the only commercial book she displays in 240 pages.

This is her website address for

for those that may want to chat about all kinds of interesting topics.

Her other best selling books include MaryJane's Farmgirl Wisdom: Magnetic Quotes and Inspiration [96 pages]; MaryJane's Ideabook, Cookbook, Lifebook : For the Farmgirl in All of Us [416 pages] and MaryJane's Farmgirl Journal [116 pages].

MaryJane Butters reading from Growing Seasons on her farm in Idaho.

Click here to watch her videoMaryJane_Butters.html